News and Updates 3, Issue 1.3

Biographical Information for the 2014-2015 American Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine Board of Directors

Leslie C. Dort, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM, Editor-in-Chief Journal of Dental Sleep Medicine?
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Kathleen M. Bennett, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
President AADSM
Graduated SUNY Buffalo Dental School, 1983. GPR Buffalo General Hospital. Private Practice in general dentistry until 2005, Buffalo NY. Practices Dental Sleep Medicine exclusively, private practice in Cincinnati OH. Credentialed UC Health in Department of Internal Medicine UC West Chester Hospital Pulmonary Division of Sleep Medicine in January 2014. Previous positions: Director AADSM; Director ABDSM; and Chair, Annual Meeting Education committee member.

Harold A. Smith, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
President-Elect of AADSM
Fellow of American College of Dentists. Full time private practice, Indianapolis, IN. Practicing DSM since 1993. Dr. Smith’s dental practice is into the 3rd generation of many of his patient’s families.

B. Gail Demko, DMD, Diplomate, ABDSM
Immediate Past President of the AADSM
Private practice in Weston, MA. Has been an active volunteer with the AADSM since 1998. Liason to the education committee and recipient of the Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Demko is the expert advisor to the FDA in the area of oral devices for the treatment of OSA.

Leslie Dort, DDS, MSc (Health Res), Diplomate, ABDSM
AADSM Secretary/Treasurer
Private practice in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. General dentist since 1980, has limited her practice primarily to dental sleep medicine. Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Dental Sleep Medicine. Previous positions: AADSM BOD member at large; Chair, Annual Meeting Committee; and Chair, Education Committee.

Steven C. Scherr, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
AADSM Director President-elect ABDSM.
Private practice general dentist with focus on dental sleep medicine in Pikesville, MD. DSM Local Program Director for Johns Hopkins Medical School Sleep Fellowship Program. Previous positions: Chaired Task Force that developed Accreditation Standards; Co-chaired Oral Appliance Definition Consensus Conference; and Chair, Reimbursement Committee.

Rose Sheats, DMD, MPH, Diplomate, American Board of Orthodontics
AADSM Director
Retired in 2013 from full time academics in the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry Department of Orthodontics. Curently limits practice to dental sleep medicine at the UNC School of Dentistry in Chapel Hill, NC. Has been providing OAT since 1997. Associate Editor, Journal of Dental Sleep Medicine. Previous positions: Chair, Education Committee and Chair, Advanced Course at annual meeting

Thomas G. Schell, DMD, Diplomate, ABDSM
AADSM Director
General private practice in New Hampshire since 1993. Research Committee member. Adjunctive Faculty of Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire. Oral Appliance Consensus conference member.

David Schwartz, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
AADSM Director
General dentist since 1988 with a concentration in Dental Sleep Medicine since 1994. Practices part time at The Center for Sleep Medicine in Chicago area and has private practice in Skokie, IL. Previous positions: Chair, Advanced Course; Vice Chair, Advanced course; and Lecturer, Board Review Course and Mini Board Review Course.

Grant D. Hensley, DDS
AADSM Director
Graduated from University of Tennessee in 1987 and practiced in the US Army for six years prior to entering private practice in Tennessee. Began working with OSA patients in general dentistry practice 15 years ago.

Kevin Postol, DDS, Diplomate, ABDSM
AADSM Director
General private practice since 1992. Speaker for the Essentials of Dental Sleep Medicine Course. Previous Positions: Health Education Committee and Chair of the Essentials of Dental Sleep Medicine Course.